Review: Silver Linings Playbook

1 06 2013

So, I just watched this film tonight.  Image

I have to say that hands-down, the best movie I’ve seen in a long time.  Seriously.  Seriously!  (Okay, I feel like I’m channeling Izzie from Grey’s Anatomy.)  But seriously.  If you haven’t seen it, you should stop reading, go get it and watch it.  Fo’ shizzle.  Anyways, I don’t know what took me so long, but I am now here, able to talk about the amazingness of the film.

First, the storyline.  It’s rather interesting.  You’ve got a guy, whose wife cheated on him, which resulted in him beating the literal crap out of the affair guy.  Which ends up in him going to a mental hospital.  He gets out and he has to figure out how to live his life beyond that.  He meets a girl and she’s just as crazy as he is, and they have to figure out how to live life the way they are.  There’s more stuff, but eh, that’s the majority of it, without giving some spoilers.

A moment on the deeper issues here:  it seems like we are seeing  a trend in our entertainment venues, that the entertainment is no longer for pure entertainment values, but for a reflection value on who we are as people.  I mean think about it, we are mental beings.  We are.  So it stands to reason that we should eventually have movies and plays and music that appeal to the mental side of us, that make us think about the ways that we respond.

I think the story resonates deeply within me because I have had such an experience with people who have issues that plague the mind.  I have OCD.  I have friends who have struggled with bipolar issues.  I deal with grief.  It’s rather refreshing to see them on film and them not being presented in a way to make fun of them, but to reveal the reality that these people have to live in.

Jennifer Lawrence is rather stunning.  If I wasn’t a big fan of her before, I sure am now.  I am excited to see where she’s gonna go in her career.

So, yes, go watch this.  Because you should, and because it’s awesome.  And who doesn’t like a lil’ falling in love every now and again?  😉

Peace.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

