Review: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

23 06 2013

As I am sitting here watching this film, it occurs to me that I haven’t done a review in awhile.  With that be said, I think that Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is hands-down the best artistic performance of the careers of Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet thus far.  Seriously.

What drew me to this film is that I am a huge fan of both Winslet and Carrey.  I have followed Carrey’s career since literally infancy, and Titanic is one of my favorite movies.  Additionally, I am drawn to this movie because it is from one of my favorite production companies, Focus Features.

When I first saw this movie for the first time, I’ll have to admit that the above reasons are the only reasons I watched that movie.  But I am happy to say that there are different reasons that I view this film today.

If you are not familiar with the storyline of the film, the film tells the story of a couple who have broken up, and they have their memories of their time together erased.  This film is the journey of them finding each other in their memories again.

When you first view the film, one of the most stunning contrasts of this film to everything else I’ve seen.  The camera angles are simply inspired, and it gives you that “indy” feel to films.  It doesn’t always have the best lighting, it doesn’t always have the best sound, but it has an sort of odd “feel” to viewing the film.

But the coolest element of this film is that it has a larger message than many of the films we find in mainstream popular culture.  In this film, the question of whether it is better to forget the memories because of pain, or keep them for the pleasures they have brought.  In addition, it speaks about the value that people have in our lives, and how their departure from our lives can really have an impact upon our lives.

Like I said before, the performances of Jim Carrey and Kate WInslet are simply inspired.  More commonly known as a funnyman, Carrey takes a very serious role and performs very well.  I literally believe the emotions he is experiencing on screen and the motivations behind each action.  Carrey plays Joel, a man who is very reserved, and socially awkward, from my understanding.  Joel encounters Clementine, played by Winslet, who is quite his polar opposite.  She is irrational, outgoing and rather “out-there” so to speak.  She makes the decision to wipe Joel out of her memories rather abruptly and sudden.

We travel with Joel through the process he takes as he follows her through this process of having his memories wiped.

Is it better to have loved and lost, than to never have loved at all?

This film strives to answer this question and it pulls it off rather effortlessly.  I highly recommend this film to anyone who wishes their media to make a comment about the reality of humanity, human heartbreak and love itself.  It makes the conclusion that the good memories you make in the process prior to the heartbreak….they may be worth more to you one day than the heartbreak itself.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

