Fulfillment

14 07 2013

Hey-yo!  I am in the midst of some travels.  I just came back from a t-totally wonderful trip to the lake with some of my oldest, boldest and coldest friends.  Well, they’re not really all that cold.  I suppose they have normal body temperature, I should probably check that out….anyways….I think I was going for a rhyming scheme or something like that.  On into next week, I will be travelling again which is so super exciting, and I am eagerly anticipating the travels I will have. 

Anyways, I know it’s rather late.  So I promise this’ll be rather short and sweet, but I was driving back from the trip I took this weekend, and in the midst of some pretty boring traffic jams, I had a new awareness/reminder of the purpose and meaning of my life. 

A week ago, if you were talking to me, you’d look at me and say that I’d lost my joy.  Last week, I just wasn’t feeling anything and was just “blah” with everything.  Then I go to the lake.  And there’s magic in that lake water apparently. 

I am a really relational person.  I am a person who thrives on the relationships that I’ve created and the relationships that I sustain.  I had many conversations and many moments with my friends this weekend, and I am rather excited to have had them.  But it inspires me and draws me back to the long-standing understanding that my life is not about being inside a bubble, but about being relational with my friends, connecting with people, and sharing lives together.  That is the meaning of my life. 

There is a unique fulfillment found in sharing our lives with other people. 

When I am asked about those I am sad about the most, it is not those who are in prison or those who are neglected, it is those that do not have anyone to spend their time with, those who are surrounded by people, but yet utterly alone.  Those who are not known truly by another person.  Those lonely people tug at my heart.  I understand I cannot fix the rest of the world.  I understand that I cannot be a friend to the entire world.  But, I’m sure I’ll be a friend to at least one person. 

I am at that point in my life where I am utterly satisfied.  I want for nothing that truly matters.  Sure, I would love a nicer job, or car…but those things don’t matter.  Personally, I have all the people in my life that I could have ever dreamed of wanting, and I am happier today than I’ve been in years.  The things that fulfill you and make you happy….it’s not found in money, cars or clothes.  It’s found in love.

And I have a lot of love in me that I have received.  And I have a lot more to share.  Oh fulfillment and satisfaction!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

