Myers-Briggs Personality Test Results

13 09 2013

Last Saturday, I spent nearly the whole day with two of my favorite people, and helped them move out of the place they were living, and into a new home that is literally 4 minutes away from my house.  Where it was an hour away, it is now a few minutes’ drive away from me.  I am SO excited about them being closer.   Anyways, as we were packing things up in their old home, we started talking about the beginning of their relationship, and on one of the first dates they were one, she made him take the Myers-Briggs test.  (Which you can take here!)  I highly encourage you to do so!

So, I got the inspiration to take the test myself.  I’ve taken it before, and in general, my type has never changed.  But it’s nice to see if you’ve changed or grown in certain areas or shrinked in some areas.  I am INFJ, if you’d like to see an explanation of my characteristics or persona, here‘s a link to that explanation.

I’ve read the explanation before, but I don’t think it really affected me, or perhaps I haven’t read THIS explanation.  But it really affected me.  Here are some facts about me, and perhaps a little discussion:

  • INFJs are gentle, caring, complex and highly intuitive individuals. Artistic and creative, they live in a world of hidden meanings and possibilities.   I like to think that this is true of me.
  • Only one percent of the population has an INFJ Personality Type, making it the most rare of all the types.  Um….wow.  Let me expound upon this:  I’ve recently (within the past few months) encountered some people who have consistently told me how rare I am.  That there’s something special about me, and that is something that they cherish.  The things that they say make me special, I don’t see as a very special quality to have.  I mean, it’s just what I do.  If I listen carefully, and give a response that is reflective and sensitive, that’s just the natural response I have in sharing my life with someone.  To me, that’s nothing special…but when I look at the lives of those around me, I realize that sometimes, this response is not quite the norm.  It’s not that I haven’t believed that I am pretty awesome, but the rarity of my personality type surprises me.  This has just been something that I’ve encountered in all different walks of my life, personal, professional, you name it.
  • INFJs place great importance on having things orderly and systematic in their outer world.  I organized my junk drawer and random utensil drawer.  I have a random utensil drawer in my kitchen.  I have a daily routine each morning.  I’m surprised that OCD isn’t in the personality type description.
  • Consequently, most INFJs are protective of their inner selves, sharing only what they choose to share when they choose to share it. They are deep, complex individuals, who are quite private and typically difficult to understand. INFJs hold back part of themselves, and can be secretive.  This is pretty true to me.  There is a inner stability that I’ve always had.  No matter what, there are certain secrets and thoughts that I don’t share.  I used to think that I was an open book and that I could tell anyone anything.  To certain people, I am, but I don’t just share absolutely everything at whim.  It sometimes takes some poking and prodding before I will share a certain arena of thoughts.  And when I do, that thought process is often more filtered out than just the harsh reality that it is.
  • But the INFJ is as genuinely warm as they are complex. INFJs hold a special place in the heart of people who they are close to, who are able to see their special gifts and depth of caring.  This is rather true.  I am so grateful for the people that I share my life with that have chosen to spend their lives with me and who have seen that value in me.
  • INFJs are concerned for people’s feelings, and try to be gentle to avoid hurting anyone. They are very sensitive to conflict, and cannot tolerate it very well. Situations which are charged with conflict may drive the normally peaceful INFJ into a state of agitation or charged anger.  I learned this fact about myself very recently.  It was an interesting process and fact.  I should’ve learned this sooner.  In high school, I lived in a home that was highly abusive and degrading.  My biological mother was very controlling and demanding.  As a consequence, I started to withdraw into myself and actually started a process of almost starving myself because I couldn’t handle the stress.  In my circumstance, I thought that if I ate or something like that, I would lose it later on the porcelain throne.  I experienced this at some point this summer.  I guess you continue to learn things about yourself a lot.
  • INFJs are rarely at complete peace with themselves – there’s always something else they should be doing to improve themselves and the world around them. They believe in constant growth, and don’t often take time to revel in their accomplishments.  Speaking of which.
  • INFJ is a natural nurturer; patient, devoted and protective. They make loving parents and usually have strong bonds with their offspring. They have high expectations of their children, and push them to be the best that they can be.
  • The INFJ individual is gifted in ways that other types are not. Life is not necessarily easy for the INFJ, but they are capable of great depth of feeling and personal achievement.  This is really encouraging to me.  I once had this roommate who simply said to me, “It’s so sad that you have such a rough life.”  No matter how happy I am or how content I am, it seems like each moment of happiness is accompanied by like 4 or 5 different potentially depressing or difficult moments/events.  The joy of a new job is compounded with a difficult process personally, a difficult relationship and a rather terrible drive.

It’s nice to learn something new about myself or appreciate something more about myself.  I appreciate these moments for what they are, and I simply wanted to share a little bit more about myself than I do typically, because I am that private person.

I’d love to hear what personality type that you are!  Feel free to hit me up (not literally)and let me know what you are!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

