Looking Forward

28 12 2013

2013 is coming to a close, my friends.  While you will be ringing in the new year with champagne, Aud Lang Syne, and a late night, I’ll be ringing in the new year asleep in bed, as I have to open at work the next day.  7 am on January 1st.  Kill me now.

All jokes aside, the close of a new year is a time of reflection.  Many times, we look on the last year fondly, take stock of the lessons learned, and move forward into a new year with a load of resolutions that we always intend to keep, but are done trying by the 10th of January.

I have learned a few things this year.  And I actually didn’t expect to end up where I am right now.  I am recently single again, heart is a little broken, but it still beats all the same.  I am recovering a few lost relationships, rekindling some fires, and completely letting go of some others.  I am maintaining those which have always been steady, and growing each day.  Not just saying that I’m growing, I’m truly growing with and without some people.  It’s a painful process.  I honestly never expected that I would be where I am today, but I suppose this just means I have a lot more to look forward to.

When Kayla died, the thing that kept me moving forward was a simple phrase, “Look Forward.”  When my parent’s marraige failed, and ultimately the end of my relationship with my birth mother, “Look forward.”  When I went through a serious time of difficulty with my very best friend in the world, “Look forward.”  When there were health scares and tribulations in my life, the only thing that kept me going was the very simple phrase, “Look forward.”  When my godson was born in difficult times and circumstances, “Look forward.”  And now, with a broken heart, and a cracked ego…”Look forward.”  Life is not a snapshot.

In a sense, it’s sort of like my mind is telling me that no matter how bad the current circumstances are, there’s something better coming.  This moment, right now, is only a small part, a small fraction of your entire life, it’s not the whole picture, it’s just a brief snapshot.  It’s not the whole movie, just a simple poloroid of a moment of the 90 minute flick.

So look forward.  Wherever you are, whatever moment you find yourself in this year…Look forward.  If you’re in a great place, know that there may be troubles in the water up ahead, but good things will come around again.  And if you’re like me, barely hanging on a thread…Look forward.

I truly believe this:  The best is yet to come.  Look forward. 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

