Inspiration

25 01 2014

I don’t know if you know this or not.  I am in the slow process of writing a novel.  I’ve never written one, and I have just passed my 10,000 word mark, which qualifies it as a short story, but I’m not finished yet.  I started writing it in August, and then I let it sit over the holidays because I had so much to do, a busy schedule, and some healing to do.  But now, it’s been just over a month later, and I’ve started to write again, and I’m really rather excited about it because I so very deeply miss writing, and I need a creative outlet.  Right now, art and painting are not coming quite as naturally, and those creativity juices aren’t flowing as they normally are.  But in the written word?  I am flourishing.  I’m very grateful that I have been given the story I have the opportunity of telling and I’m so grateful that I have the support of all my friends and family in this process. 

My inspiration lately has come from the talents that those around me have shown me.  I’ve been looking at and examining the various talented people in my life and have been immersing myself in those talents.  Over the past year, I’ve been allowing myself the opportunity to participate in different things with my friends and loved ones, that allows me to experience the blessings of their talents. Life has a funny way of bringing people in my life who are awesome at some things or another.  I’ve been blessed to live my life with such incredible cooks, and I’m learning more and more about cooking and all things culinary all the time.  My family is soo very musically blessed, and I’m so grateful to be able to share in their musical talents.  From instruments, to singing, and even some writing of songs.  It’s so awe-inspiring for me to see people that are sharing their talents and not harboring it away from everyone.  I’ve seen people overcome some very significant struggles, and I’ve seen such a growth in the lives of those that I live with.  I’ve seen people change their lives, be in the process of changing their lives, and having to push themselves constantly to continue to change their lives.  I’ve seen people become great parents out of cruddy situations, and I’ve seen people laugh when the trashbag breaks.  I’ve seen joy despite sickness, and love despite struggles.  I’ve seen the gift of friendship be extended to me, even when I don’t deserve it, and care and concern given to me, in the darkest days of my life.  I’ve seen death.  I’ve seen life.  Through it all, I’ve seen a people continue to give and give to me, despite everything.  That is a talent!  I’ve seen poetry, heard the spoken word, even got the opportunity to hear an encouraging talk shared by Nev! 

We tend to focus on the fact that our lives are sooo hard and they are soo difficult.  We focus on the fact that our relationships are so difficult, and we focus on the hard harshness of life, but the powerful endurance of the human spirit is so very inspiring.  I’m so blessed to be able to spend my life with such a high caliber of people.  There’s inspiration to be found everywhere, if we just know how to look for it, and look at it.

Be someone’s inspiration!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

