Beginning My Career

28 08 2014

(If you don’t know already, I’ve just begun a new job, one that is actually FOR what I went to school to become)

Monday, I started my career.  Just let that sink in.  It’s kinda like a marriage.  I made a commitment to a job for an entire year.  For that year at least, I’ll do nothing but eat, sleep and dream about lesson plans and connecting with my kids.  It seems kinda crazy, to think that I’ve begun something that I’ll probably stick with for awhile.  Something where I’m not on a salary basis.  

On the one hand, it’s completely overwhelming.  It’s filled with anxieties, and stress, and all of these other emotions.  But on the other hand, there’s gratitude, deep gratitude, thankfulness and joy.  There’s an assurance that this is that which I was born to do.  Not only have close friends reminded me of that, and not only do I have an incredible support system, not only do my co-workers see how happy I am, but deep in there somewhere, I’m truly excited to be there.  I’m looking forward to seeing what my kids can do this year.  

In the past, I’ve let my anxieties hold me back.  I’ve let my worries keep me from doing great things.  They’re still there, quietly peering around the corner, but something just tells me I can do it.  

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

