#LoveWins

28 06 2015

Um, I don’t know if you know this or not yet, but SCOTUS guaranteed same-sex marriages ACROSS the entire US and all of its territories.

I’ve three responses….

The first is YAY!!!  I’m so excited to learn that equal rights are available to those of us who are not in a heterosexual orientation and are no longer treated as a second-class citizen.  I am proud to say that I was alive when that happened.  Think about it, the children born yesterday will never know a day where the rights of same-sex couples to marry were not availiable.  Look at how far we have come!

My second response is:  (Sorry to piss off some people) deeply disgusted.  At the amount of hate I see all over my facebook feed now because of this.  I see a lot of people that are “deeply concerned” and that claim our nation is “going to hell in a handbasket.”  The reality is, attitudes like that are what are condemning our nation, and not raising us up as a nation.  Just sayin.

And my third response?  My third response is a sigh.  It’s no coincidence that this resolution comes the week after a shooting in Charleston, NC.  Forty years ago (or more), legal equality came to those of us who were not of the white majority.  It has been a long transition.  Racism is still not over.  A young man, a white supremacist walked into an African American church and shot the people there.  They were targets.  This civil rights fight for African Americans and other races is not over yet.  It only goes to show that the fight for equal rights in terms of orientation?  Buddy, that fight is just beginning.

So dig in, for a whole lot of dumb coming from a never-ending parade of stupid.  It’s love.  Sure.  But it’s still gonna be a fight.  I hope you’re in it for the long haul!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

